The mission of the Tejas Lodge, Order of the Arrow is to fulfill its purpose as an integral part of the East Texas Area Council, Boy Scouts of America through positive youth leadership under the guidance of selected capable adults.


Founder’s Award

Introduced at the 1981 National Order of the Arrow Conference, the Founder’s Award was created to honor and recognize those Arrowmen who have given outstanding service to their lodge. The award is reserved for an Arrowmen who demonstrates to fellow Arrowmen that he or she memorializes in his or her everyday life the spirit of achievement as described by founder E. Urner Goodman and cofounder Carroll A. Edson.

The Award is a handsome bronze medallion bearing the likenesses of E. Urner Goodman and cofounder Carroll A. Edson, with wooden base and brass plate suitable for engraving. Also available is a special Founder’s Award arrow ribbon, with a gold colored arrow suspended from a red ribbon.

Since 1985, the Tejas Lodge has honored these Arrowmen with the Founder’s Award:

1985 Frank McBride
1986 Jessie Jones Peyton Jones
1987 Kevin Mefford Robert Hightower
1988 John M. Hall Marvin Ellis
1989 Louis Makatura H. Bradley Gallop
1990 Matt Berkau Butch Mefford
1991 Jeff Schmidt Tim Hill
1992 Chris Connally Clyde McCullough
Mark Anderson
1993 Larry Anderson Riley Crocker
1994 Eugene Ellis Ronnie Wright
1995 John Berry Ted Rye
1996 Chris Migi
Ramsey Williams
1997 Lance McAlister Ronald Williams
1998 Chris Harrison David Newkirk
1999 Matt Hill Leon Dominy
2000 Michael Forsyth Steve Scott
2001 Francis O’Neal Milton O’Neal
2002 Nathan Bishop J. Mark Canter
2003 Alex Aucoin Nolan Tomme
2004 David Harris Bro. Tom Goodwin
2005 Carl Hanke Jerry Nichols
2006 Ayrric Jones Jeff Hall
2007 Matthew McCarley Sammy May
2008 Aldric Jones Darrel Lancaster
2009 Drate Berry Bob Berry
2010 Myles Elbel Mark Bush
2011 Brian Allen Cece Allen
2012 Robert Westmoreland Terry Westmoreland
2013 Hunter Brown Matt Lindsey
2014 Clinton Hearn Dr. Bill Newton
2015 Jonathan Burt Chris Peurifoy
2016 Thomas Ghiringhelli Ken Skinner
2017 Levi Morrill
Kevin Boatman III