The mission of the Tejas Lodge, Order of the Arrow is to fulfill its purpose as an integral part of the East Texas Area Council, Boy Scouts of America through positive youth leadership under the guidance of selected capable adults.


Lodge History

The Tejas Lodge is the Order of the Arrow Lodge chartered by the East Texas Area Council, headquartered in Tyler, Texas.
The Order of the Arrow, or OA as it is often called, was founded in 1915 by Dr. E. Urner Goodman and Col. Carrol A. Edson while they were directors at Treasure Island Scout Camp, a camp located in the Delaware River Valley. Their purpose in founding this honor society was to recognize scouts and scouters who best exemplify the Scout Oath and Law and render unselfish service to their troop and to the camp.
In 1934, the Tejas Lodge was chartered with L.S. Harkey elected the first Lodge Chief. Today, the lodge is divided into 6 chapters, organized in the same manner as the council’s districts. Since the founding of the lodge, over 400,000 man hours of service have been rendered to the East Texas Area Council.